inspiration

So, I realize it would be useful to post some pictures of my work, but it’s all the way in studio, and I’m not going back right now. That said, I’ll post some pictures soon. Hopefully I’ll have some really photo-worthy stuff by then.

In the meantime, here are a few things that inspired my form on the detached-handle teacup. I was struggling with how I could make the handle seem to fit with the cup, rather than looking like two separate forms forced to sit together.
I looked at my Braun water kettle and an OXO measuring cup. These both have the same kind of handle I want for the teacup, but the forms are coherent. They also have a flare around the top edge, and I think this is the part I’ve been missing. Just a little flare-out at the top helps to balance out the visual weight of the handle on the other side. I think it did the trick!

Leave a comment