it’s been a good day…

I feel really happy about the way things worked out today. I spent most of my studio time down in the shop, using the lathe to make my plate and saucer and hoping that they came out right. I’d done some sketches initially to relate the plate and saucer to the cup, but this was the first time I was going to try and model them. Lucky me, it turned out well. Turning the plate was a little difficult because it was 10.5″ in diameter, and only .75″ thick. However, the saucer was the same thickness but only 6″ in diameter, and it came out looking great. I’ll probably take a Dremel to the plate a bit later to get it thinner. Otherwise, I’m quite pleased about how my set turned out. It fits together well as a family, and I think it captures the essence of casual, gentle, and compact. Now for graphics…

Leave a comment