…in progress

So, I’m about knee-deep in Amazon reviews. I’ve been looking up products which are similar to what I want to design (they’re called “kitchen machines”) and checking out what people like and dislike about them. It’s given me some ideas. First of all, I think it helped me find my target demographic. I think I’m going to aim this toward housewives. Not necessarily Mrs. Cleaver types, but women who do the cooking in their families and enjoy it. In the spirit of feminism, I’d like to steer clear of perpetuating stereotypes, but I think there are still plenty of people who fit into my target demographic without having to force them into it. From the reviews I’ve read, one thing that absolutely must not be sacrificed in order for my design to succeed is the functionality. It seems like the thing that makes people satisfied with their kitchen machine over another product is that it gets the job done. It’s a powerful and well-designed machine, so I need to put an emphasis on communicating that. However, people also seem to value quietness during operation.

Anyway, I’ve got some work cut out for me. Hopefully, I’ll be able to sell these concepts by Wednesday!